Skip to main content
Couple and dog ;

News & Announcements

Back to News & Announcements

16 winners include special $10,000.00 “Bill Reidel Scholarship”

Consumers Cooperative Association (CCA) announced the 16 winners of their 2020 scholarship program last week at their 50th Annual Meeting at Great Wolf Lodge in Gurnee. CCA awarded 15 – $2,000.00 scholarships, along with an additional $10,000.00 scholarship in honor of former Consumers Credit Union President, William (Bill) Reidel. The recipients, all high school seniors, are able to use their scholarships at an accredited college or university of their choice. CCA is the sponsor of Consumers Credit Union (CCU).

“Consumers Cooperative Association is proud to introduce this year’s scholarship winners,” according to Kathleen Crews, CCA Chairman. “We are delighted to support these students as they transform today’s dreams into tomorrow’s realities. We look forward to great things from this tremendous group of future leaders.” 

Listed alphabetically with their high school in parentheses, are the students awarded $2,000.00 scholarships: Gisselle Acosta (Waukegan High School); Abigail Findlay (Lakes Community High School); Elleana Fort (Streamwood High School); Madelyn Goodman (Carmel High School); Patrick Graham (Libertyville High School); Alison Greissinger (Wauconda High School); Esme Hansing (South Lakes High School in Reston, VA); Jesse Hertzke (Grayslake North High School); Andrew Jachim (South Elgin High School); Joshua Miller (Zion‐Benton High School); Jesus Monroy (Waukegan High School); Bryce Nolan (Woodstock High School); Janessa Norvell (Tremper High School); Arleth Perez‐Chavez (Waukegan High School); and, Hayley Schmidt (Johnsburg High School). 

Consumers Credit Union and Consumers Cooperative Association joined hands this year to establish the William (Bill) Reidel Honorary Scholarship in the amount of $10,000. This scholarship was created to honor Bill for his tireless efforts on behalf of both CCA and CCU, as well as his lasting legacy on the credit union movement, our Members and our community during his 40 years at CCU, 25 of which Bill served as the credit union’s 4th President. He was also a founding member of Consumers Cooperative Association.

During his tenure, Bill Reidel demonstrated an unselfish dedication to the credit union philosophy of “people helping people.” It was in this spirit that CCA’s Board Scholarship Committee, led by Julie Jenkins, selected Monique Acosta from Zion Benton High School as the William Reidel Honorary Scholarship recipient. 

Monique plans to attend the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee and Major in Sociology, with a personal goal to earn a doctorate degree in music therapy. In her scholarship application essay, Monique talked about how, as a freshman, she was uncertain at first about joining her church’s youth group. However, after attending her first meeting, her skepticism waned. She continued and volunteered for service projects learning how community service and giving back to others were fulfilling.

Ultimately, Monique took on a leadership role, presenting new ideas for service projects and led group activities. Her experiences changed her life, helping her to understand how much she valued being around people who give back to others. Monique also recognized that if she would not have taken the opportunity as a freshman, she would have regretted it later on. “Consumers Cooperative Association is delighted to honor Monique Acosta with the William Reidel Honorary Scholarship,” said Kathleen Crews.

All scholarship applicants were evaluated based on academic performance, financial need and leadership abilities, including community involvement. To be eligible, applicants or their parent/guardian must have been a Member of CCU, for a minimum of one (1) year, the applicants must also be on track to graduate by June 2020. The Committee had an especially daunting task this year, with 180 outstanding applicants from 61 high schools located in seven different states.

For more information about CCA’s scholarship program, please contact Kathleen Crews, Chairman, Consumers Cooperative Association. CCU is Member‐owned, with offices in Waukegan, Mundelein, Round Lake Beach, Gurnee, North Waukegan, Volo, Kildeer, Palatine, Schaumburg, Northbrook … and Online at 

The 2020 Scholarship winners are pictured below (high schools indicated in parentheses), as follows:

Top picture: Mr. William Reidel and Monique Acosta (Zion Benton HS), winner of the $10,000 Reidel Scholarship.

Scholarship winners

Bottom picture – winners of $2,000.00 scholarships for 2020: Front row left to right: Arleth Perez‐Chavez (Waukegan HS), Gisselle Acosta (Waukegan HS), Alison Greissinger (Wauconda HS), Hayley Schmidt (Johnsburg HS), and Madelyn Goodman (Carmel HS) 

Back row, left to right: Elleana Forte (Streamwood HS), Bryce Nolan (Woodstock HS), Joshua Miller (Zion‐Benton Hs), Jesse Hertzke (Grayslake North HS), Patrick Graham (Libertyville HS), Andrew Jachim (South Elgin HS), Abigail Findlay (Lakes Community HS) and Jesus Monroy (Waukegan HS)

NOT PICTURED: Janessa Norvell (Tremper High School) and Esme Hansing (South Lakes High School in Reston, VA)